dinsdag 20 december 2011

Photoshoot & new designs

Last sunday I had a photo with a friend of mine for my jewelry line "EmikoDesigns"!
I went to Liedekerke, the village where she lives, she and her boyfriend picked my boyfriend and me up. We then drove to a house that belongs to family of her.
It is an empty house, but it was still in decent condition, I actually really liked it!
first I did a look where I barely wore makeup and had my hair in pigtails to look more like "Wednesday Addams", after that I did a more gothic look.
I love the results I already got from the photoshoot.
here's a preview:

The jewel in the picture above is the only one that wasn't made by me that I have worn for the shoot. It was made by a brand called "Starchild by Saffron".



These are some of pictures I've gotten so far,
Hope you like them ^^
If you wish to see more pictures or just chek when I'll get some more of them you can always like my modellign page on facebook :
http://www.facebook.com/EmikoSlaughter

And today I have been working on some new jewelry, I've made 6 pieces, and they look like this:
.
Yes yes, me without makeup looking tired as hell.

The gem on the picture is purple but I've made them also with these colors:
- Clear
- Black
-Apple green
-Ruby red
- Blue

I really like thisnew lace necklace.

Business cards are in

Yesterday I recieved my 250 business cards, I was so happy!
But they were almost destroyed, thatnks to the mailman... Our doorstep was dry and instead of leaving it there, he put the litlle box on the wet floor, luckily they had only bene out there for 20 minutes or so, otherwise they would have been soaked.
Here's whet they look like, front and back:
I ordered them from Vistaprint.be, as you can see they are very nicely printed and there are no mistakes of any sort in the design, I love them.
I do have to say that Vistaprint.be does make misleading advertisement... They first say that your 250 cards are for free (didn't fall for that though...), then they suddenly cost 4.99€...
But at the chekout my final price was 42.41€, and then if you looki at the list you'll get something like this:
- 250 cards 4.99€
- Color printed back 30.00€
- Shipping 10.00€
...and so on.

So don't get misguided by them =)

zaterdag 17 december 2011

Yashica TL electro

Today I got a litlle present from my dad, and I am very happy with it!
He got me a Yashica TL electro reflex camera from 1972.
I loooove old reflex cameras, and I already had one but I needed to get fixed... turned out that not one shop could get the parts for the camera anymore...
So now I have a new one ^^

I still need batteries, and the closing cap for the batteries is missing too...
But I bet they sell those too in battery shops.

Isn't he just gorgeous?
I hope it still works <3

vrijdag 16 december 2011

Yet another sneak peek

Ok so here is another sneak peek,
Indeed I have been making loads of new stuff the last 2 weeks.

And there is even more to come in a few weeks.
So here they are, my new skelleton ladies:

Hope you like them <3

Japanese pop culture + FNM

Lately I have been listening to Japanese pop and metal a lot, and I keep wondering why European pop culture isn't as fun and colofull as the Japanese pop culture...
Here we have talentless people who mix up some old songs in their own homemade computer music, they ruin older songs from the 90's and 80's and then call it music, art, tallent...
Or dubstep ofcourse... we have dubstep.
I must admit there is some dubstep I like, but I think some dubstep is still to be considered "music", for example "Promises" by Nero.
But most dubstep just really sounds like a computer crashing and the dog scratching a blackbord while the thumble drier is shredding your clothes... or something like that.
I would give anything to have music like they have in Japan, here in Europe.
The videoclips are awesome, the music sounds happy and sweet, the artists never look the same, they all have their own original style,...


The new collection that I am working on for EmikoDesigns is going to be based on that Japanese popculture and on harajuku styles such as lolita, fairy kei, deco,...
So it is going to be a bit colorfull, cute and outragious.

That's all on the popculture subject.

Tonight I'll be attending another FNM (Friday Night Magic), and I don't think I have ever talked about that on my blog before... so let's do that now.
Magic the gathering is a card game, that was invented int he 90's, it is the game that the Pokemon cardgame as well as the Yu Gi Oh cardgame were based on.
You have 7 types of cards:
-Artifact











-Creature











-Instant











-Sorcery











-Enchanment











-Planeswalker











-Land : this you need to use any of the above card types and is your base.


This is an island, all lands of the color blue are Islands.
there are 6 colors you can play:
-Green
-White
-Red
-Blue
-Black
-Colorless (mostly artifact)

every creature, instant, artifact, sorcery, planeswalker and enchantment has a mana (land) cost on their card, and you'll need this many land to able to bring the card into play.
If you have a 60-card deck you mostly have about 40 cards that range from creatures to enchantments, and the other 20 are land.
And from there on, when you have your mana you can start playing cards, those are the basics of the game.

So on FNM, you get to play against other people (you can not choose who) and at the and of the evening you can win prices, such as rare cards or special art cards.
How good or bad you've played gets you points and those points you straight to your DCI number, where you can see how many points you have and what "level" you are.

I play a white weenie deck, weenie meaning that I play low cost creatures with mostly low strenght and toughness. This doens't sound logical at all if you want to win, but this was you have creatures before that the enemy has them, so you can do some damage before he can even block the damage because he has no creatures.
The creature types in my deck are "Humans", and I have a lot of cards you need to power up.
for instance:
Champion of the parish
He only costs one mana to paly, so I have this one in my deck 3 times, so i have more chances that he is going to be in my begin hand. if he is the first card I play, the game is as good as won by me. Whenever I play another "human", his strenght and toughness go up by 1, so in about 4 turns, I can have a super strong creature that no one can beat.

So I hope I'll draw some good cards tonight and that I'll win something ^^

donderdag 15 december 2011

Getting bussy

So lately I've been wanting to get more bussy and "professional" with modeling and EmikoDesigns.
I feel like I don't put enough effort in both of them, so I'm trying to think of a way to get more envolved, well I already know some stuff for EmikoDesigns...
I am having bussiness cards printed and I am going to start attending "Micro Marche"
http://www.micromarche.be/
Micro marche is a small market in Brussels where people who make things by hand (such as art, clothing and jewelry) can go sell their stuff. I am hoping to get some "succes" their as in, people finding out about EmikoDesigns' existence.
Here are some impressions of the market:


(Photos were taken from their facebook http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000206779204)

But for my modelling, I have no idea...
I think I can print some of my photos and put them in a map, so people can look at my pictures too, I have no idea.... I guess I'll just try that.
Ofcourse I will start doing more photoshoot when I find myself some more time.

Sunday I have a photoshoot planned, we would be doing that scary fairytale shoot, but we can't make it to the location so we'll be doing something else.
The new idea is too shoot some of my EmikoDesigns jewelry, but I'll be wearing something that kinda reminds me of Wednesday Addams, so I think it'll be nice.

Right now I am still waiting for 5 shipments to arrive, all supplies for jewelry, and I can't wait to recieve them!
I am up to such wonderfull things!
Here's a sneek peek on what things I bought:

I love these beads, they look just sooo yummy because of their gorgeous colors!
I can't wait to use them =3


Neon stars, how much better can it get!

So this was a litlle update on bussiness!

maandag 12 december 2011

Jewelry update


I have just ordered a massive load of new supplies, and some of it already arrived!
So today I have been crafting a bit with what I've recieved in the mail so far...

My battery recharger is still lost in oblivion and nowhere to be found, so I still have to make my pictures with my crappy cellphone camera...
but anyways, I made a sneek peek shot at the new jewelry
So here are a few things I made today!
I like to get it all sparkly lately...